What’s in the baaaaaaaarx!?

I have news! I wrote a thing. It’s been accepted for tomorrow’s Halloween storytelling show at the Dukebox in Hove. Go there immediately and wait for 24 hours!


This marks a renewed writing effort from yours truly. If this year were a “season” of your favourite American drama series and I was a character in that series, then my character arc would be “writes a bit, doesn’t write for a bit, writes a bit again”. Which is more of a character circle, really.

I have accomplished only a few of the writing goals I announced in January. I haven’t spent at least four hours a week on the writing process. I haven’t read on my weekly commutes to work.. And I haven’t listened to the song “Scott Pilgrim” by Plumtree first thing every morning for the rest of my life.

I have blogged a bit. But only a tiny bit. My last update was to warn that I was going to Edinburgh and that the normal frenzy of blog updates would follow. Well, I drafted lots of blog updates, but have been too busy to finish them. It is possible that in the future I will go back in time add them retrospectively, slightly weakening this original post. A bit like Back to the Future 2 does to the original.

I have joined a writing group. That one gets ticked off because I only had to do it once. But I’ve only managed to actually attend twice. Though both times were very interesting.

The most important writing resolution to me was the one about sending out one finished short story a month to writing competitions or other opportunities. I only managed this for January and February.

“The Box” was sent off in September. That’s three so far. I am wondering if I can still get twelve things done by the end of the year and salvage this whole resolution debacle. I know what you’re thinking: “There’s only two months left in this year of our Lord two thousand and sixteen! You can’t seriously think you are going to go from an average of no stories per month to an average of four point five stories a month?”

Well, that’s a very good point, but it’s actually been nought point three stories per month until now. And  I may have a trick or two up my sleeve… All will be revealed… next time!

In the meantime:What’s in the baaaaaaaarx!?

Leave a Reply

